Northeastern states sue EPA over drifting smog pollution

New York and five other northeastern US states have sued the Environmental Protection Agency over enforcement of smog standards on nine upwind states, ranging as far west as Illinois and as far south as North Carolina. Eleven northeastern states ‒ Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont ‒ and the District of Columbia are part of an “Ozone Transport Region” under the Clean Air Act, a designation that calls on the group of states to work together on smog-reduction policies. Led by New York State Attorney General Eric Schneiderman, a coalition of those states ‒ including Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont ‒ seeks to extend the Ozone Region designation to upwind states that contribute “dangerous ground-level ozone” pollution to states downwind, Schneiderman’s office said Thursday after filing the suit in US District Court.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.